
Nebraska Tax Rate Chronologies
Table 6 — Prepaid Wireless Surcharge

The Nebraska Department of Revenue determines the prepaid wireless surcharge for each calendar year.  The 
percentage is obtained by dividing the amount of Enhanced Wireless E-911 and Telecommunication Relay System 
set through an order authorized by the Nebraska Public Service Commission and in effect as of the preceding 
July 1 of each year by fifty and rounding to the nearest tenth of one percent. 

The Universal Service Fund surcharge percentage was added to the prepaid wireless surcharge computation 
in 2019.  This additional percentage is obtained by multiplying the percent set by the Nebraska Public Service 
Commission in effect as of the preceding July 1 of each year by one minus the Federal Communications 
Commission safe harbor percentage for determining the interstate portion of a fixed monthly wireless charge.  All 
three percentages are added together and rounded to the nearest tenth of one percent.

Beginning January 1, 2023 two separate prepaid wireless surcharge rates apply. This is based on the Nebraska 
Public Service Commission order finding the maximum Enhanced E-911 (E-911) rates apply for the 2022 
calendar year. By statute, the maximum E-911 rate is $0.50 for Douglas County and $0.70 in the remaining 92 
counties in Nebraska Neb. Rev. Stat. § 86-457. For the calendar year 2024, based on the Nebraska Public Service 
Commission order, the Wireless Surcharge remains at its current level of $0.50 for Douglas County and $0.70 in 
the remaining 92 counties in Nebraska.
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		  Effective Date			   Douglas County 		 Remaining 92 Counties  
	    	    01/01/2024	   		          5.5%	    		  5.9%
		     01/01/2023	   		          5.5	    		  5.9
	   	    01/01/2022			           5.4			   5.4
		     01/01/2021	   		          5.4	    		  5.4
	   	    01/01/2020			           5.4			   5.4
	    	    01/01/2019			           5.3			   5.3
	    	    01/01/2018			           1.0				   1.0
	    	    01/01/2017			           1.0				   1.0
	    	    01/01/2016			           1.0				   1.0
	    	    01/01/2015			           1.0				   1.0
	   	    01/01/2014			           1.0				   1.0
	   	    01/01/2013			           1.0				   1.0

https://www.nebraska.gov/psc/orders/state911/2021-10-19%20911-002%20Order%20Setting%20Surcharge.pdf
https://www.nebraska.gov/psc/orders/state911/2021-10-19%20911-002%20Order%20Setting%20Surcharge.pdf
https://www.nebraska.gov/psc/orders/state911/2023-08-29%20911-002%20Order%20Setting%20Surcharge.pdf



